International Journal Of Bilogical Sciences

Interleukin-10 Family and Tuberculosis: An Old Story Renewed

Abualgasim Elgaili Abdalla1, 2, Nzungize Lambert1, Xiangke Duan1, Jianping Xie1

Abstarc :

The interleukin-10 (IL-10) family of cytokines consists of six immune mediators, namely IL-10, IL-19, IL-20, IL-22, IL-24 and IL-26. IL-10, IL-22, IL-24 and IL-26 are critical for the regulation of host defense against Mycobacterium tuberculosis infections. Specifically, IL-10 and IL-26 can suppress the antimycobacterial immunity and promote the survival of pathogen, while IL-22 and IL-24 can generate protective responses and inhibit the intracellular growth of pathogen. Knowledge about the new players in tuberculosis immunology, namely IL-10 family, can inform novel immunity-based countermeasures and host directed therapies against tuberculosis.

Key Word :
IL-10; cytokine; Mycobacterium tuberculosis; Immunity.

Volume 12, Number 6, April 2016